top of page
Writer's pictureAllan Peter Sinco

THROUGH THE LENS: Maasin City in a Snap

Updated: Mar 28, 2019



Day 1


7th of February, 2019 at around 8:30 in the morning, we docked at the Hilongos Port enroute to Maasin City, Southern Leyte. I was accompanying Susy,my ex GF for their 30th Alumni Homecoming in St. Joseph College of Maasin. By the way, I gave my sounding yes with one condition that she has to agree with...and that I should bring along my Canon gears including my Manfrotto tripod with me. Obviously, my negotiation skills worked out because if it didn't, you will not be reading this blog. Hahaha!


Susy and I parted ways later that day after we have settled in in our favorite spacious hotel room, courtesy of Mr. Rolando and Mrs. Susan Brenda Ang (Ate Susan is the first cousin of my wife though) who were so accommodating and generous in allowing us to stay in one of their rooms.


Susy went to their Batch's Welcome Night Party, While I headed to the shoreline to scout for the best spot to mount my gears and capture the sun as it sets and as it rises as well.


Day 2


Friday Morning. Goodness Gracious its my day off! So I then headed down to the beach area at around 4:30 am, set up my gears, and patiently waited for the Sun to rise. The photos in the left were taken between 5:31 am and 5:39 am as it was slowly rising in the Horizon. Since I only had barely 3 hours of sleep, I went back to our "hotel" and took a nap just to have enough energy to pump me up for another photo adventure.



After we had taken our sumptuous lunch, like a flash, I went immediately to where the Cagnituan Falls is located. It's a 4.5 kilometer ride from the main highway in Maasin, Southern Leyte either by a motorcycle or a 4x4 ride. Then you need to walk the very narrow trail after you reach the barangay gym.(Please check my blog about this beautiful waterfalls).



As I was heading back after 3 hours of enjoying the scenery and was trying to capture another fantastic natural event to happen on that same day, I've wasted almost an hour just to get the lens hood for my Canon EF 16-35mm F4.0L which I left on one of the stones near the falls (Thanks to the two Ate who were my tour guides who volunteered to get it back for me). While waiting for them, I had taken some snapshots of what was going on down the stream. You can see in the slide show that those fish in the photo were live and with a spear...they have their fish in the skewer ready for roasting.


I was racing with the sun as I went down the cemented but slippery and winding road as soon as I had my lens hood back in my hands. My scooter was running like 110kph downhill hoping that I can catch a very nice glimpse of the sunset. Arguably, it's one of the most beautiful sunsets that one can ever catch. Well, the photos below will tell whether or not I'm lucky for seizing the one of a kind moment. But before you say your wows, the size of the sun was that of our one Peso coin had I'd been minutes earlier. Thanks to my forgetfulness I missed it!

Should I go back and capture the 1 Peso-size sunset? You're darn right! I should... I would...I must...

I SHALL RETURN!!!




320 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page