top of page
Writer's pictureAllan Peter Sinco

METAMORPHOSIS: From A Wannabee To A Serious Newbie


GIVE CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE!

In most cases, a photographer beautifully captures different precious moments of family. relative, and friends every time he aims his camera at them. When it is his turn to be part of the picture however, he hands over his camera to someone else and passionately gives detailed instruction on how to get the perfect angle so as to include the beautiful background. More often than not, the photo taken will either be having the full background and the photographer minus his extremities or photographer's full body minus the background. It is very seldom that you get a decent photo. Thanks to Mrs. Marichu Lobaton-Houston, my former classmate in high school I have a very beautiful and nicely composed cover photo that she took when I was sharing my little knowledge about photography with her at the Harbour Square along the Manila Bay area when she last visited our country.


MY FIRST GRASP!

The first camera that landed into my hands was a Canon SLR (Single-Lens Reflex), film driven camera owned by my father-in-law whom I have never met since he already passed away before I got married to my wife Susy in 1996. My apologies for not remembering the model name of the camera and the type of lens attached to it. Although I never had a camera before and nobody taught me how to use it, I still tried using it on few occasions. Would you like to guess how many good shots I made? For a twelve exposure roll of film, I managed to have at least three good ones for the first roll and got eight nice shots for the 24 shot roll of film. Not bad for an idiot who happened to have a "hand-me-down" camera! I only spent a roll of 24 and two rolls of 12 exposure film when I convinced myself that this camera is not meant for me. Sometime in the early 2000s, I went to Hong Kong and bought my first digital camera. It was Fujifilm FinePix M603 -- a point and shoot camera.

Needless to say, I stopped worrying about under or over exposed shots or how much money will I be needing to buy rolls of film. I was happy too because I got to see all my shots, delete, and retake the bad ones without spending a single cent. It served me well for over a decade. Every event or occasion had been immortalized because of this camera. The first eleven months, Christenings, birthdays, and almost every activity of our children in and outside our house, their respective school's extra curricular activities had been covered and documented. But in 2008 I had my bakery and patisserie training in Belgium, that was when I experienced the limitations of my all time buddy. Since I can only roam around the city of Brussels during night time after office hours, my frustrations started to build up. Although my face in the photo was very good the background was nothing but darkness and glaring flashes of light coming from the street lamps. So I had to go back to the same spot when the sun is up on weekends to capture the background. Same thing happened when my French colleague invited me to spend one of my weekends in Paris- good shots during the day and blurry or no visible background at night. I also envied my colleagues every time we took photos of our bread and cake creations because theirs have different moods, different color temperatures in every click of their cameras. Despite these realizations, I was still loyal to my M603. After all, I still got good shots!


2012: THE GIFT OF LOVE

Sometime before our wedding anniversary in 2012, my wife brought me to a camera store inside the Robinson's Forum (formerly Robinson's Pioneer) and had me choose a camera model that I wanted to have as her anniversary gift to me. Without time to research and read reviews of the camera's capabilities and limitations, I bought my first ever DSLR (Digital Single-Lens

Reflex), the Canon EOS 7D with an

EF 18-200mm IS USM lens and a 430EXii speedlight that goes with it. Given the limited amount of knowledge I had over cameras and its gear, I was clueless on how to operate them both and, well, on the basics of photography in general. The reasons that prompted me to convince my wife to buy a camera were to document all my crazy and out-of-this-world food creations, and to immortalize my family's yearly escapades. For six months or so, instead of reading my camera's manual (who does it anyway?), I bought some basic photography magazines, idiot's guide on how to use a DSLR, tried browsing YouTube and tried my very best to educate myself with the equipment I had. In order to understand the difference between a USM and an STM, I even procured an EF 50mm STM since one YouTube video recommended an STM instead of USM lens for video recording and a 55-250mm for long distance shots. I added these lenses in my artillery but sad to say it did not satisfy my expectations as far as their purposes and quality were concerned. To this effect, I heeded the advice of Mr. Kenneth Hao (Canon Ambassadors of Light) and disposed all those lenses and focus my photography investment on lenses. Kenneth was not just a "Kababayan" but a friend from Davao City and one of my invaluable mentors in the world of

photography. This resulted to me getting my first L lens, the EF 24-105mm f/4.0 IS USM. In brief, he explained to me the differences of manual, shutter and aperture priority modes. He also told me the importance of the exposure meter that can be seen in the viewfinder that serves as indicator that your photo is under, over, or correctly exposed. From there, I learned the relationship of Aperture, Shutter Speed, and ISO a.k.a. The Exposure Triangle. I also learned the DOF (Depth of Field), and some basic composition guide posts.


2013: OH MY OH MY BORACAY!

My new learned skills were put to the test when we went back to Boracay in 2013. Surprisingly, the beginner in me was slowly being replaced with a more versed person in the field of photography. With my first L lens, I wasted no time and took some photos in the airport on our way to our destination as shown in the photos below. Click the left and right arrow to navigate the gallery.

Aside from the fine white sand beach , the trip to Boracay allowed us to experience different modes of transportation like this motorized bangka ride.

As the sun started to set, and the surroundings began to dim, I aimed my camera outside the boat and captured the RORO vessel passing by. Unmindful of the camera settings, I just clicked the button and got my first sunset photo.


Simultaneously, as my feet felt the white sands, my eyes were in awe of how beautiful the island was. I couldn't stop myself from clicking my Canon 7D-- known to be the beast when it came to reliability, stability, versatility, and of course, durability.


Although the camera was big and a bit heavy, it was user-friendly as anyone could easily handle it due to its simple features. This was proven by our daughter who managed to frame my wife and I in the left photo below despite having no experience in photography.




Thanks to my Manfrotto tripod and applying my understanding of the depth of field and simple composition technique, my family was eager to print and hang this photo on one of our family room walls.






2014: WELCOME TO DISNEY LAND

In 2014, our summer escapade destination was in Hong Kong. Although not that wide, EF 24-105mm did not fail me in wide angle shots as well as close capture poses.



With the hopes of capturing the magnificent lights and music display, I recorded it using the video cam features in my camera. My first video recording using my 24-105mm f/4.0L lens.



After our Hong Kong trip, my camera spent many months in a dry cabinet. Nothing spectacular happened to the improvement of my photography skills even until the first quarter of 2015 when an open invitation for a free Basic Photography workshop somewhere in San Juan City, Metro Manila popped up on my FB news feed. I got very excited and signed up immediately with my son, Avron. It was a pity that it took me almost 2 years before I attended my first formal lesson in photography. That one-day workshop confirmed what Kenneth had taught me and I got a clearer perspective of what photography was all about and how it affected my passion for it.


2015: MY FIRST BASIC PHOTOGRAPHY WORKSHOP

In May 24, 2015, my son and I attended a free one day Basic Photography Workshop somewhere in, San Juan City. It was somewhat a confirmation of what was

taught to me about the EXPOSURE TRIANGLE but this time the application was part of the package.


We were taught how to manipulate all the dials of the camera and a little detail on the TV (shutter priority), AV (aperture priority), M (manual) and P (program) modes by no less than Mr. Ador Pamintuan, a top-caliber veteran in the field of photography since the film-driven camera era.


One of the challenges that I had encountered at the workshop was closely related to the lens that I was using.


During the portraiture session the twenty plus attendees were lined up in three rows according to the maximum focal length of our lenses.


Unfortunately, I was in the third row since mine was a 24-105mm. A lot of my shots had two or more subjects: the model and the heads of the other participants belonging to the first and second rows.


This happened despite the conscious effort of our mentor Mr. Amir Alba in reminding them to get out of the way once they have their shots.


Can you tell me which of the photos on the left that the model actually had an eye contact with me as the shooter? Having to compete with other trainee photographers in getting the attention of the model at a good angle, I now understand the life of a paparazzi.


By the way, the guest mentors were members of the Federation of Philippine Photographers Foundation (FPPF).


After the last activity of the workshop which was portraiture, (for me it was the highlight of the said activity) and while the organizers were tallying the scores of the spot photo contest and preparing our certificate of attendance for the awarding ceremony, I got the chance of asking Mr. Amir Alba for some advice and all he did say to me was to attend the 5 day formal Basic Photography seminar workshop conducted by FPPF veteran photographers and mentors if I were really serious in pursuing this craft.


2016: PALAWAN...HERE I COME AGAIN!


The first time I went to Palawan was in 2011 together with my family and my wife's office mates. Unfortunately, I only had my iPod Touch to capture the moments and I was very careful in using it especially when we were in the middle of a body of water. Such paranoia cost me dearly as far as capturing the moment is concerned. Can you imagine that after 3 days of touring the different tourists spots in Puerto Princesa (Palawan's capital City) I barely had 25 shots in my iPod? So, I said to myself that the next time I get the chance to be back, I'll see to it that I have the right gear with me and never miss a single spot.


This second chance came in the summer of 2016 when the Uy Clan, where my wife belongs to, decided to explore the underground river, the different white sand island beaches, and the magnificent and majestic rock formations that the island folks boast of. After the things I've learned from the basic photography workshop somehow boosted my confidence to take the challenge of being the official photographer of the Palawan trip. Unlike my shots in Boracay and Hong Kong, under and over exposures are brought down to the minimum and maximum retake of a certain pose is 2 shots.

Above, are some photos that display only one emotion: EXCITEMENT!!! Everybody was so eager to get on board the boat and savor the Majestic Experience in crossing the Puerto Princesa's Subterranean River National Park also known as The Underground River, one of the six UNESCO designated World Heritage sites here in the Philippines.


No Vest, No Hard Hat, No Entry!

Tourists could only enter the cave once they put on vests and hard hats that were distributed at the entrance. While waiting for our boat taxis that will bring us to the underground river, I took group photos according to families before taking the entire contingent. With 7D's weather sealed promise, water splashes is the least of my worries.

Once inside the cave, nothing was spectacular without any beam of light illuminating the surroundings, but as the boat man starts talking and giving instructions on where to point our flashlights and aim our cameras, a different scenery is revealed. Amazing formations of stalactites and stalagmites are spotted every time the boatman points to a certain direction. Normally, stalactite is an icicle-shaped formation that hangs from the ceiling of a cave and is produced by precipitation of minerals from water dripping through the cave ceiling. Stalagmites, on the other hand, is a mound or tapering column rising from the cave floor.


The left photo informs us that this is a RATED PG zone and instructs parents to cover the eyes of their minors to avoid seeing person's bare buttocks.







As we went further, the right photo warned us to be silent and be calm because a T Rex (Tyrannosaurus) dinosaur is waiting for its next meal.






If you're lucky enough not to be eaten by the dinosaur, then it is time for your buffet meal. First stop is the appetizer where giant mushrooms await the hungry tourists who were already mesmerized by the bare buttocks and the dinosaur.





Care for a banana blossom salad sir/madam? This stalactite formation resembles a flower cluster of banana commonly known as banana heart or "Puso ng Saging" in our native tongue.









Are you ready to be inducted as a member of the Knights of the Round Table? This stalagmite formation resembles a kneeling person is about to become a knight.





These stalactite and stalagmite formations above are just some of the things that you can see as you cruise along The Underground River.


Below are photos after we have conquered the subterranean river. Everybody felt jubilant upon exiting the cave. However, their happiness was nothing compared to mine because aside from the feeling of awe that I have experienced just like them, I felt more victorious upon reviewing my shots inside the cave that despite the scarcity of light source, but with the help of my Canon 430EX II speedlight, I managed to take some decent shots every time a spot was illuminated by the flashlight. Please don't forget to click the left and right arrows to navigate the photos.


If I remember it right, Floro Virtucio, another kababayan of mine and my former classmate back in the elementary once liked one of these photos that I posted on Facebook. He then asked me on the camera I used in taking these pictures. Upon learning the camera model and the lens that I had been using, he told me that my gear is under utilized. Since I have the potential, might as well maximize the use of the beast by joining photography clubs,

photowalks, exdeals and learn from other photographers. He even suggested an EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM to solve my wide angle problems. Although it is not an L lens, its performance is somewhat very close. I consider it as an L lens without the red ring. Luckily, I found one in an online market place and got a good buy for my new baby in December of 2016.


2017: EMBRACING THE WORLD OF PHOTOGRAPHY

This was quite a busy year for my gears. A lot of travels, photography-related activities, and other events where I could make use of my camera and hone my shooting skills in the process. In the early goings of 2017, I traded in my EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM version 1 (found it too heavy for me) that I also bought online with the Canon EOS M5, my first and only mirrorless camera.


I Love Pagudpud!

Our summer escapade was up north in the regions of Ilocos ending in the Blue Lagoon of Pagudpud. The first beach where we experienced no high or low tides. Meaning, the shallowest depth of the water is my neck level and that's 24/7 if I'm not mistaken. We were very fortunate that our visit is the time of the year were the water is calm and steady. Have you noticed the wide angle shots of the photos below? Thanks to my friend Floro and to my 6 month old baby EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM. Can you imagine I only brought one lens with me on this trip? With this lens, close-up, group, and landscape shots were no longer an issue.


Fortifying My Arsenal For Photography

The thought of moving up to the next level, fueled my pursuit of having a full frame body and getting the right lenses. However, with the phrase "invest on the lenses" still fresh in my mind, I decided to set aside my appetite for a full frame body. I started searching and reading online discussions and reviews on what the best combination of lenses are to start a career in photography. My research led me to my next move...start acquiring the TRINITY LENSES namely: 24-70mm (portraiture) 16-35mm (landscape and wide angle shots), and 70-200mm (telephoto for long distance shots). My first acquisition was the 24-70mm f/2.8L v1 but I was not very comfortable with it probably because it had no IS (Image Stabilizer) and heavier compared to the 24-105mm that I traded it with and the 17-55mm now in my possession. .

Some time in June, through the online market place, I was able to purchase a pre-loved Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L from a hobbyist who fell out of love with photography. Although it was not part of the trinity, I decided to buy it as part of my arsenal. I love the Bokeh of this glass! Since food photography is one of the reasons why I bought a camera, the 50mm was then tried, tested, and proven to create shots with very nice bokeh or blurry background that no other lens can surpass or even level with it, except of course its buddy the EF 85mm f/1.2L.


In August, I traded in my EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM version 1 (that I also bought online) with the Canon EOS M5, my first and only mirrorless camera. The things that convinced me to grab this body even if it is not a full frame camera are: a) its size, b) flip/articulated screen, c) built-in WiFi. The beauty of having a camera with this feature is that I did not need to buy a remote control or set the camera's timer and run as fast as I could to be part of the

picture. Just download the Canon Camera Connect to your mobile phone and voila you have your instant remote control. Also, with WiFi, transferring your photos to your cellphone is as easy as 1-2-3. Hmmmm...I know what you're thinking. Yes you're definitely right! You can immediately post your photos to your Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and other social media formats using the M5 camera which was the top of the line among the M series. (Click left or right arrows to navigate)


In September, while I was attending the photography seminar workshop in Intramuros, an opportunity for me to own a telephoto L lens was knocking on my door. Since I'm not well-versed with its features, I asked the seller to meet me in the workshop venue and asked the help of one of the FPPF staff to check the lens for me. After which, I then acquired a new member of my red ring line, the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.


Attending the Camerahaus Photolympics was somewhat considered as the testing ground for my newly acquired Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L v1. Although it was a pre-owned unit, the shots below proved its worth as a reliable, sharp, and with very nice bokeh effect starting from f/5.6 up to the widest aperture at f/2.8. I named this baby as THE SPOTTER- the lifelong buddy of the shooter for long distance shots. From afar, 2nd floor for instance, I was able to get some SOC (Straight Out of the Camera) photos that need no editing of whatsoever.


First Taste of Income!

After heeding to the advice of Floro, I started joining online groups of both professional photographers and people who love photography. In one of these groups, someone posted that they were in need of a photographer to take photos of their food products that will be needed in the making of their menu. So, I presented some of my shots of the food that I cooked or baked in the comment section. Upon seeing the other photographers' portfolios (which were very nice and through their photos you can tell the years of their experience), I regretted commenting and offering my services to the said post and expected nothing from it. Much to my surprise, I received a private message in my Messenger inquiring on my rate for the said shoot.

To your left are some shots I took when I was hired by a group of young entrepreneurs to come up with photo options for the organization of their menu book for their newly opened cafe along C.P. Garcia, Diliman, Quezon City right across Ateneo de Manila, I had to admit that I had mixed emotions after finishing the task. Happy and fulfilled because the owners were very happy of the results. On the other hand, very sad and frustrated upon learning from their manager (who had a blanket authority when it comes to the menu design) of his intention to isolate every product by cropping/cutting it out from the entire photo compositions. This was my first photo shoot with commercial benefits. My first taste of income indeed.


Kon'ni chi wa Japan!

In December, my 7D bowed down to some things that only M5 can do during our Japan trip.

The photos above cannot be done by my 7D unless I lie down on the ground. With the

M5's articulated screen, worries of getting dirty while taking a worm's eye view is a thing of the past. Another advantage of this mirrorless camera is its size that you need not worry to ask anybody to take a photo for you (just like the photo in your left) because it is small, light, touchscreen, and it has "subject auto tracking" feature.



2018: MY FIRSTS IN ALMOST EVERYTHING

Since I opened my doors to the world of photography, 2018 is a year to reckon with. If I am not mistaken, almost all of my firsts happened in this year. May 20, 2018 was my first time to join an out of town photography activity organized by Canon Clickers Club in Sisiman Beach, Mariveles, Bataan. I was clueless of what activities would be unfolded once we

arrived in Sisiman when I joined the tour. As the sun was setting, our attention was directed to the wedding couple (not real couples though) and took these shots. My first taste of wedding photography with a sunset background.


On the adjacent side of the beach, two models were dressing up with their respective outfits. Another first in my photography life, an outdoor fashion shoot featuring long gown and two piece swim wear.



As the sun completely set and the place began to darken, we packed up our gears and headed back to our camp for our dinner. I thought that was the end of the day's activities. Surprisingly, it was not. We were given the option to either sleep and wake up at around 11 pm, or just hang around with peers while waiting for the time. Then came the moment and off we went to the vacant yard where there was no single light illuminating our path. Although I did not know that one should bring a flash light, thanks to my Boy

Scouting days I managed to have one. An old habit hard to break, so to speak. It was my first time to shoot without anything to focus on due to the very dark surrounding. How did I do it? You ask the flash light. The photos to the right are the evidences of my first long exposure shots.


Credits:

Cover photo courtesy of my classmate in high school Ms. Marichu Lobaton-Houston

Photos from the internet:

Canon EOS 7D mk1

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4.0L IS USM

Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM




45 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page