top of page
Writer's pictureAllan Peter Sinco

ONE CHAMPIONSHIP: A Photographer's Journey

Updated: Oct 8, 2020



Photo credit to Gerrard C, Ferrer

HOW DID IT ALL BEGIN?

Before the last week of March, 2018 ended, I was invited by a friend and fellow photographer to see some action on the 20th of April 2018 and eventually hone my skills in sports photography. Although I have covered some court actions like basketball, volleyball, Tae Kwon Do, and other sports where my lens can capture the subjects without any interference of whatsoever, framing the subjects with the cage wires in between is a different story. Despite the incorporation of advanced technology to address the moving subjects, it is still considered as one of the most challenging task a photographer can ever have. So much so if cage wires or ring ropes are jeopardizing the auto-focus system of your gears. Since I go for more challenges, I gave my big YES without hesitation.


At that time I still had my Canon 7D with the Canon EF 70-200mm F/2.8L lens attached to it. It was just the perfect gear for the action though. From that day until the event, I kept on watching YouTube videos and ask a little help from my fellow photographers to gain some more insights and techniques on how to shoot an action-packed, physical contact sport just like this ONE Championship event.


THE PRESSCON

Usually three days before the event, a press briefing or commonly known as THE PRESS CON is held at the CITY OF DREAMS in Pasay City. Are all photographers welcome to attend this event? If my memory serves me right, I have only attended two press briefings for the four successive ONE Championship outings (that were held here in the Philippines) that I have been covering since the very first time I was invited in April of 2018. YES, a photographer must be invited before he/she can enter the press con hall. Fortunately, these

were the two most recent events namely: (1.) THE CONQUEST OF CHAMPIONS - November 20, 2018 (2.) THE HERO'S ASCENT - January 25, 2019.



As I entered the press conference venue, I was directed to the cordoned area where three lines were defined. One for the media, another one for the different Martial Arts clubs, and last but not the least, is for our group, the photographers. Upon reaching the counter, you'll be provided with an ID and your hand will be wrapped with a wrist band once your name

checks out with their guest list. These will be your ticket to be able to enter the reception hall where free flowing brewed coffee as well as tea are being served. While waiting for the presscon to start, we were able to take some photos, selfies, and group pictures. So sad that I was not in any of the pictures in the right. That's what you get if you volunteer to be their photographer. Nevertheless, I enjoyed taking the shots for them though. As soon as our attention was called and that the conference was about to start, it was only


then that I learned the purpose of the color coded wrist band. The area was divided into sections. From the stage, first few rows were dedicated to us. The succeeding rows are for the media people. The third section was equipped with chairs and devoted to VIPs, spectators coming from different Martial Arts clubs, the fighters, and some executives of both the hotel and ONE.


Since there were no chairs, it was quite a bit tiring and my lower extremities experienced some degree of numbness and cramps, but I did enjoy every bit of the occasion. After all the


introductions and speeches of the top executives, and some product launchings, everybody (myself included) was eager to listen to the fighters of the things they did to prepare for their bouts. Unlike other MMA Press Conferences, here I witnessed how family-oriented, principled, and patriotic these cage warriors are in their own right. RESPECT was in the air until the last minute of the affair.


The event ended up in the other room where food were displayed on buffet tables for everyone to partake. While we were enjoying our meal, I noticed that some were carrying


some sort of a black loot bag bearing the ONE Championship logo. Deep inside I said to myself. "Hmmm... This event never seizes to surprise everyone." Needless to say all the people inside the function hall of the City Of Dreams who attended the affair never went home hungry and empty handed.




THE SPECTACULAR FRIDAY

The photos below will tell us what is going on moments before the fight.


Inside, we get to take shots of the venue as the event crew are still, finishing their set up for the lights, sounds, video screens that are scattered in almost every angle that the viewers' can possibly stare at, and other special effects need to enliven the whole event. Since day one, I've been a constant witness of the players warming up in preparation for their respective matches.


Also, as a photographer, one should never miss the opportunity to capture the beauties that roam around the ring telling the crowd what round is about to begin and those that usher the fans before, during, and after the fights.





THE FIGHT NIGHT

At around 6:30 pm, under card matches start to commence. Although these are undercard bouts and people are just coming in, I make sure that I am already inside the Arena to witness every match that the night has to offer. Most people would come in the middle part of the event thinking that there will be no good fights in the undercard. Well, here's what I can say to them, "THEY GOT IT VERY WRONG!" These fighters are no different from the main event matches. Their skills, discipline, fight strategies, passion, and determination to win is almost as identical as that of Brandon"The Truth" Vera, Kevin "The Silencer" Belingon, Eduard "The Landslide" Folayang, and the rest of the blue chip fighters of the ring. The only difference (if this is considered as one) between the undercards and the main event is the deafening yells,yeheys, and hoorays coming from the very excited and noisy but very behaved crowd. To my amazement, ONE shows to the crowd how excitedly noisy they are by flashing on to the screen the so called NOISE METER! In my opinion, I find it more appropriate to call it as the EXCITEMENT METER. I very confident though that you'll agree with me if you are there beside me experiencing the "State of Shock" or better yet the "State of Awe" (if there is such phrase hahaha).


Why do Martial Artists fight? Why do they hurt themselves or allow others to hurt them in the ring? Is it only for the Championship belt as shown in the pictures below? Actually, the belt itself is very nice to have but what lies behind in achieving the prestigious belt is what every fighter tries to fight and stake their lives for. They fight for the lives of their love ones, for the community they belong, the difficulties and hardships they have overcame, and of course, principles that a true Martial Artist adheres to for his/her entire life. These are:

COMPASSION... COURAGE...DISCIPLINE...HONOR...HUMILITY...INTEGRITY. No wonder when you see these warriors fight inside the cage apart from their individual skills and prowess, you will always see the RESPECT for each competitor.

HOW CAN A WARRIOR WIN THE BATTLE?

The fighter who inflicts the most damage, hits his/her adversary a lot, or executed a series of take downs might end the fight victorious via SPLIT or UNANIMOUS DECISIONS. But for me, nothing beats the so called EMPHATIC KNOCK OUTS and MAGNIFICENT SUBMISSIONS because these two will improve the fighter's set card or his/her fighting career by establishing a number of finishes ( means that the fighter has been declared a winner via knock outs, tap outs, fight stoppage by the referee due to severe damage inflicted to the opponent) rather than won decisions in winning every fight. By the way, ONE Championship event is known to have the most number of finishes in every event that they are hosting.


Below are the three major fight strategies that a warrior might win the match (I hope the judges and referees will agree with me though).


Through STRIKES


Through KICKS


Through SUBMISSION



Please forgive me dear readers for capturing vividly the camera man turning his back on me instead of the fighters in some of my photos. Hahaha. I tried my best get rid of him as I frame my shots but to no avail. I even did several attempts to crop the photos. But if I will insist in doing so, my photos will end up having half-bodied fighters which in turn will look like "Manananggals", a folkloric term for evil creatures similar to vampires, zombies and the like.


Had I not been given access to the area where the cage is just a stone-throw away, these photos could have been worst. Thanks to the Games and Amusement Board Chairman Abraham Mitra (who is in the far left of the photo) through one of his commissioners Eduard Trinidad who were responsible in providing me a seat so I can have a clear shot (minus the cameraman, of course). Pardon me for the grainy capture of the photo because they were too far from where my camera is and even if speed lights are allowed it would still be useless considering the said distance. So I need to increase the exposure level because the original copy is so dark that you could hardly recognize their faces.


I guess I have said enough as far as my entire journey as a photographer is concerned. However, I cannot let it pass not talking about this particular guy and showing some of his photos out of gratitude.


Kevin "The Silencer" Belingon


I love Martial Arts! You can bet on it. Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Yuen Biao, Samo Hung are some of my inspirations why I enrolled in a Martial Arts school as young as 11 years old (although one can take lessons at the age of 4 nowadays I guess) in my hometown Davao City. It used to be Philippine Moo Duk Kwan-Korean Tang Soo Do during my time but now known as the Philippine Moo Duk Kwan Inc. Korean Soo Bahk Do. Because I am a firm believer of the Martial Arts virtues and principles which I want to impart to my daughter and son, I tried engaging them into it. Unfortunately, there is no such similar club existing here in Metro Manila that is near where we live. So I decided to enroll them in another Martial Arts organization. I was very happy that they were into it but all of a sudden both of my kids lost their interest. My daughter shifted to swimming while my son to basketball. Since I am not the typical father who insist my wants to my kids, I did let go of my aspirations for them.


Thanks to Kevin "The Silencer" Belingon! After we watched his match against Andrew Leone, my son had a 360 degree turn and started to love the art once again. Belingon's Spinning back kick that put Leone to the canvas made the difference. Seeing "The Silencer" walking towards the cage with his Ifugao outfit Kevin did not only inspire him about Martial Arts but he become more proud of his Asian descent and being a Filipino!

Thank you very much for taking time to read my journey. Stay connected for more about ONE Championship. For my next article, I believe it is high time to know...


The MAN behind the SUCCESS of ONE Championship.


A True Blooded Martial Artist. Martial Arts for him is a way of life. It weakens him if he fails to go to the gym and do his daily routine.




































291 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page